Headlines - Safeway Championship


2015 Safeway Championship

For Immediate Release
January 28, 2015

CurlManitoba is hosting the 2015 Safeway Championship February 4-8 at the Keystone Centre in Brandon, MB. The top 32 Men's teams in Manitoba will compete for an opportunity to represent Manitoba at the 2015 Tim Hortons Brier March February 28-March 8 at the Scotiabank Saddledome in Calgary, AB.

Three of Canada’s top ten men’s curling teams are the top three seeds in the draw which was announced today in Winnipeg.

Mike McEwen’s Fort Rouge team, ranked #1 on both the Canadian Team Ranking System and the WCT’s Order of Merit, has been made the top seed by the teams competing in the championship. 

Acknowledging his status as defending champion skip, Jeff Stoughton-Charleswood and his new team are the second seed. Team Stoughton was #9 on the CTRS in [...] Read more


In Westman Region, Kelly Robertson (Doug Armour, Peter Prokopowhich and Bob Scales) from the Neepawa Curling Club and Murray Warren (Brian Barker, Terry Warren and Reg Warren) from the Deloraine Curling Club won A-Side berths in the Regional playoffs. Robertson defeated Chris Wytinck-Glenboro (10-5) and Warren defeated Perry Fisher-Wawanesa (9-5). On the B-Side of the draw, Fisher (6-5 over Cory Zdan-Virden) and Kelly Marnoch-Carberry (8-2 over Wytinck) won the Safeway Championship berths. Personnell of all teams which won regional berths. NORMAN: Grant Brown-Burntwood (Jonathan Sawatzky, Tuffy Seguin and Mike Mcgurk) PARKLAND: Roger Parker-Dauphin (Jason Yates, Ian Ferley and Rob Fisher) AND Glenn [...] Read more

Stoughton Earns 2015 Safeway Championship Berth

Jeff Stoughton and his Charleswood team (Rob Fowler, Alex Forrest, Connor Njegovan) rode a pair of exceptional late-end Stoughton shots to victory over Trevor Loreth-Granite in a Winnipeg A-Side berth game Sunday afternoon. Trailing by 3 with last rock on the ninth end, Loreth built an end with rocks buried behind wide corner guards. While Stoughton had shot rock in the four foot, those wide counters suggested the possibility of a big end. Loreth, throwing third stones as always, drew his last stone behind a counter and after some deliberation Stoughton threw a big-weight runback double kill to end the momentum that was building. The Loreth foursome posted a deuce to trail by one coming home. Another well played end suggested Loreth had a possible steal building [...] Read more

Bohn Foursome Wins MCT Championship & Safeway Berth

David Bohn’s Assiniboine Memorial team (Bryan Galbraith, Dennis Bohn, Larry Solomon) posted an 8-2 victory over Daley Peters-West Kildonan (Brendan Taylor, Taren Gesell, Greg Melnichuk) in the Men’s final game at the Manitoba Curling Tour Championships presented by Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries. With the victory, Team Bohn claimed not only the annual MCT Championship but also eligibility for the Safeway provincial men’s championship in Brandon in early February. Having played a limited schedule, the Bohn team came into the event needing to win the title to earn a Safeway Championship berth. Peters played the final game of the championship secure in the knowledge that his team had already secured one the Safeway berths available to the top four teams on the [...] Read more

Lyburn Team Wins Neepawa Safeway Berth Spiel

William Lyburn - Granite (Richard Daneault, Andrew Irving, Daniel Gagne) has won an invitation to compete in the Safeway Championship in Brandon in February. Lyburn defeated Jared Kolomaya-Stonewall 6-5 in the championship of the Safeway Berth Bonspiel underway in Neepawa. Team Lyburn joins Mike McEwen and Matt Dunstone's Junior team as the first teams qualfied to play in the Safeway Championship In the semifinals, Lyburn scored a pair of four enders to post a 10-3 win over Kelly Marnoch and Kolomaya came from behind, down 5-2 after six ends, to defeat Kelly Robertson 7-5.


Tickets are on sale now for the 2015 Safeway Championship at Brandon's Keystone Centre - priced at $100 for a full event pass, $25 for a day pass, and $10 for an evening draw pass. The event will run Wednesday, February 4 to Sunday, February 8, 2015. On-line ticket purchases can be made via the Keystone Centre's website.


The current Canadian Teams Ranking System (CTRS) leader Mike McEwen Team and the 2013 Canadian Junior Champion Matt Dunstone Team are the first two teams qualified to participate in the Safeway Championship at Brandon’s Keystone Centre February 4-8, 2015. McEwen’s eligibility is due to his Fort Rouge team having been the CTRS leader at the end of the previous season while the Dunstone team qualified by winning the first Safeway Berth Bonspiel last spring in Carman. The next team to qualify will be the winner of the fall Safeway Berth Bonspiel in Neepawa, November 28-30, 2014 followed by five teams receiving Safeway Championship berth invitations at the conclusion of the Manitoba Curling Tour Championship at Winnipeg’s Assiniboine [...] Read more


Jeff Stoughton (Safeway champion for the tenth time and 11th overall) and his Charleswood team of Jon Mead, Reid Carruthers and Mark Nicholls have defended the title they won a year ago in Neepawa. Team Stoughton concluded an undefeated week with an 8-3 win over Mike McEwen and his team from the Fort Rouge Curling Club. An aggressive opening end went bad for Team McEwen and Team Stoughton posted a three. They led from there all the way as they earned the Manitoba invitation to the Tim Horton Brier in Kamloops in March.

Robertson, Lyburn Co-Recipients of Spiring Award

A pair of Westman curlers have been honoured as co-winners of the 2014 Pat Spiring Award by their fellow competitors at the Safeway Championship. Neepawa skip Kelly Robertson and Brandon’s Team Fowler third Allan Lyburn were selected as the first recipients of the new award. The award, established in memory of Pat Spiring by the Spiring family in conjunction with CurlManitoba and the Curling For Life Endowment Fund, recognizes competitive spirit, love of the game, respect for the traditions of the sport of curling, as well as on-ice curling ability. The competing players were asked to nominate competitors in the 20th anniversary Safeway Championship for the award based on their season long observation of the teams as well as during the championship event. [...] Read more

Brandon to Host in 2015

CurlManitoba Executive Director Craig Baker has announced that an ‘agreement in principle’ has been reached with the Brandon Curling Club for the staging of the 2015 Safeway Championship. Pending finalization of contract details, the provincial Men’s championship will be played at the Keystone Centre’s Westman Communications Group Place, February 4-8, 2015. Baker noted that the strong event hosting reputation of the Brandon community made the decision an easy one when the expression of interest came. Past-President Shawn Taylor will serve as the Co-Chair of the Brandon Host Committee. “The Brandon curling community is excited to have the opportunity to host the 2015 championship. It is long past time for us to host another championship curling event. We earned a [...] Read more


With the support and endorsement of the Spiring family, CurlManitoba has announced establishment of the Pat Spiring Award to be presented annually at the Safeway Championship. The award memorializes Pat Spiring, a respected Manitoba competitor whose curling career was cut short by cancer. Pat was recognized by fellow competitors for his on-ice curling ability, his competitive spirit, his love of the game and his respect for the traditions and spirit of the sport of curling. The award will be presented annually to a Safeway Championship competitor who exemplifies those same Pat Spiring characteristics. Teams competing in the championship will be asked to nominate players who represent the ‘spirit of Pat Spiring’. The final tally will be done on Friday [...] Read more

Right Sidebar Ad

Right Sidebar Ad Mobile